Join Now   | Contact Us   |   Login  



Certified Occupational Health Nurse (COHN)
This credential is offered to registered nurses with an Associate, Diploma or higher degrees.  The focus of the COHN certification examination is more directed toward direct clinical care, but contains questions that also apply to the role of advisor, coordinator and case manager.

Certified Occupational Health Nurse-Specialist (COHN-S)
This credential is offered to registered nurses with a Bachelor's degree or higher.  The focus of the COHN-S certification examination is on the roles of management, education, consultation and case management in addition to direct care.

Where and How to Get Your COHN Certification
The American Board for Occupational Health Nurses (ABOHN) is an independent nursing specialty certification board. ABOHN is the sole certifying body for occupational health nurses in the United States and awards three credentials: Certified Occupational Health Nurse (COHN), Certified Occupational Health Nurse - Specialist (COHN-S) and Case Management (CM).

ABOHN does compile and publish public information about courses that assist OHNs to prepare for the examination and to advance their knowledge of occupational health nursing. This publication, the Education Resource Directory, is revised semi-annually and is available from the ABOHN office free of charge to those qualified for the examination. Please visit their website for more information.

ABOHN Continuing Education Guide

Course and Handbooks for COHN Examination Study

The CE Committee's Provider Unit can provide AOHP Chapters with continuing nursing educational activities that award nursing contact hours. Please contact AOHP Headquarters for more information.

© Copyright 2020 by AOHP
AOHP Headquarters, 125 Warrendale Bayne Road, Ste 375, Warrendale, PA 15086 Tel: 800-362-4347 Fax: 724-935-1560
Privacy Statement