Sandra Bobbitt Continuing Education Scholarship

Awarded to members only

To provide annual continuing education scholarships to subsidize the educational efforts of members.

Committee Composition
The Sandra Bobbitt scholarship approval committee shall be comprised of the executive vice president and two executive board of directors’ members appointed by the executive president annually.

I. Funding Guidelines
A. A maximum of five (5) scholarships shall be awarded annually. One shcolarship for each region. 
B. A complimentary main conference registration and one (1) night lodging at the conference hotel shall be awarded for each scholarship.
C. Monies shall not be awarded in conjunction with other Association scholarships for the same course.
D. Applications for scholarships must be submitted by Jun 1st of the year of the conference. 

II. Award Criteria
A. Applicant must be a current AOHP member.  Consideration will be given to the number of years as an AOHP member in good standing.
B. Award limited to one (1) per member, per year.
C. Applicant eligibility will be evaluated based on the information required on the application.
D. While previous recipients who have been granted this scholarship may apply, they will be considered only if there are no new scholarship applicants.
E.  This award is non transferrable.  If member cannot use scholarship, recipient must immediately notify the executive vice president for consideration of remaining applicants.

III. Application Process

Member submits an application by June 1st. Applications should be email to AOHP Headquarters (, Attention: Sandra Bobbitt. AOHP Headquarters will forward all applications to the executive vice president. 

A. Applications are reviewed by the Executive Vice President and two other board members using the Sandra Bobbitt Continuing Education Scholarship Evaluation Instrument.
B. The total score of the numerical ratings is used as an indicator in the scholarship selection.
C. The Executive Vice President shall notify the applicant in writing of the committee’s final decision with a copy to the Executive Treasurer, if approved.
D. Applicants for scholarships to the AOHP annual conference will be notified of the disposition of their applications by July 1st.

Download Scholarship Award Application

Sandra Bobbitt Scholarship Recipients

2004 - Lynn Arndt, Lynne Karnitz and Rose Yaptinchay
2005 - Sandra Bobbitt Scholarships for the 2005 conference: Linda Good, Janet Williams, Kerry Owens, Lynn Arndt; Sandra Bobbitt Scholarship for an outside conference: Denise Strode
2006 - Lynn Arndt, Janet Crafts, Denise Knoblauch
2007 - Anna Hook, Kim Twinsdale, Jo Ella Waugh
2008 - Mary Bliss, Rose Yaptinchay for conference; Denise Knoblauch, Delynn Lamott for outside conference
2009 - Linda Good, RN, PhD, COHN-S; Suzy Bramwell, MN, RN, COHN-S; Susan Borrego, MSN, RN, COHN-S/CM; Debra Quirarte, RN, COHN
2010- Julie Davis, MSN, RN, COHN; Cecelia Granahan, RN, BS, ONC, COHN-S; Vicki Howard, RN, CLNC; Dana Jennings Tucker, RN, BSN, CCM; Sarah Parris, RN, MSN and Nancy Pike, RN
2011 - Lisa Dyrdahl, RN, BSN, Tina Harvey, RN, Sharon McLendon, RN, Kerry Owens, RN and Eric Shirey, RN, PHN, OHN, CCHP
2012 - Angela Avvento, RN, MPH, COHN/CM, John Furman, PhD, MSN, COHN-S, Julie Nicholas, BSN, RN, COHN-S and Russell Walker, RN, MSN
2013– Loretta DeLynn Bulloch Arndt, RN, Susan Davis, MSN, ARNP, ANP-BC, Cherie L. Holodnick,  RN, MS, COHN-S, Lisa Kincaid, RN,  Rose Rennell, RN, MS,COHN, Jon Schaffer, RN, BSN, Stacy L. Smirl, RN, BSN, MSM and Janice Van Heest, RN, BSN
2014- Peggy Anderson, RN, COHN/CM, Linda Beasley-Freeman, RN, BSN, Jana Nady, BA, RN, CRRN, CCM, COHN-S and Marti Smith, RN, BSN, CIC
2015 - Susan Flores, RN, COHN-S, Julie Nicholas, RN, BSN, COHN-S, Beverly Nuchols, RN-C, MS, NP, PHD, COHN-S and Rebecca Schirle RN MN MPH COHN-S
2016 - Jane Burnson, RN BS,,Carol Gindt,,Sarah M. Parris, RN, MSN, COHN,,Diane Youngblood, RN, BSN, MBA and Donna Zankowski MPH RN COHN
           UL EHS Sustainability Professional Development Scholarship - Linda Wylie, RN, BSN, COHN-S
2017 - Jane Burnson, RN; Curtis Chow, FNP, PA-C, COHN-S, CEES, COEE, CSPHP; Roxanne Hupp, RN; and Julie Nicholas, RN, BSN, COHN-S
2018 - Pamela Carey-Goo, Corrie Courtney, Eric Shirey, RN, APNS, OHN, CCHP-RN and Liz Tullis, RN, MSN
2019 - Elizabeth Bennett, BSN, RN, COHN-S; Nancy Goodyear, RN, BS,COHN-S; Megan LeClair-Netzel, DNP, RN, AGCNS-BC;  
Christy Koscielski, RN and Jodi Kottwitz, RN 
2020 - Shahnaz Lakhani, MSN, RN, Julie Nicholas, BSN, RN, COHN-S, Rebecca Schirle, MN, MPH, COHN-S and Theresa M Schrantz, LPN, TTS, CIC
2021 - Jennifer Martin, BSN, RN and Julie "Jewels" Galassi
2022 - Karel Curtis, Cindy Gresh, Nicole Hilderman and Julie Nicholas
2023 - Clara Whitney, RN, BSN, CIC, Stacy Stewart, RN, BSN, Sabrina Gregory Hancock, DNP, FNP-BC, RN, CNML, Debra Kiker, RN, MSN, COHN-S and Melissa Longo, BSN, RN