National Award for Extraordinary Member

Awarded to members only

Introduction: The National Award for Extraordinary Member recognizes an Association member who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the field of occupational health in healthcare.

Qualifications: Active Association member for a minimum of two years and employed in the field of occupational health in healthcare. The current executive board of directors’ members are not eligible for this award.

The Association of Occupational Health Professionals in Healthcare invites applications for the National Award for Extraordinary Member. 

1.  Award Amount and Disbursement: The awardee is presented with a plaque and $250 at the annual conference.  A letter of recognition shall be sent to the recipient’ CEO from the executive president.

2.   Eligibility and Evaluation: The executive president submits a qualified list of candidates and accomplishments to the executive board of directors for vote prior to the annual conference executive board meeting.

3.  Submission Instructions. The executive president solicits membership nominations by way of an announcement to regional directors, chapter presidents and via the AOHP Journal and quarterly newsletter. Chapter presidents solicit membership nominations from chapter. members and submits membership nominations to the executive president and the regional director with a statement of qualifications and extraordinary accomplishments.

4.  Nominations deadline.  Nominations close July 1st of each year.

Award Selection Criteria
1. Chapter activities:  Offices held, committees, other
2. National activities:  Offices held, committees, other
3. Publications:  AOHP, other
4. Presentations:  AOHP, other
5. Professional development (continuing education, national certifications, research, webinars)

Download Extraordinary Member Award Nomination Form

Extraordinary Member Award Recipients
1993 - Kaye Hatch
1994 - Deborah McGuire
1995 - Kathleen VanDoren
1996 - Karen Kelly
1997 - No award
1998 - M. Jo Tucker
1999 - No award
2000 - Cynthia Nicholson
2001 - Chris Ambercrombie
2002 - No award
2003 - No award
2004 - Kim Casey
2005 - Lydia Crutchfield
2006 - Betsy Holzworth
2007 - Mary Bliss
2008 - Sandi Buzar
2009 - Dana Jennings Tucker, RN, BSN, CCM
2010 - Clint Parram, MPH
2011 - Linda Good, RN, PhD, COHN-S
2012 - Christine Pionk, MS, RN, COHN-S
2013 - Lee S. Newman, MD, MA, FCCP, FACOEM
2014 - Julie Nicholas, RN, BSN, COHN-S
2015 - Kimberly Stanchfield, RN, COHN-S
2016 - Cecelia Granahan, RN, BS, ONC, COHN-S
2017 - Cory Worden, MS, CSP, CSHM, CHSP, ARM, REM, CESCO
2018 - No award
2019 - No Award
2020 - No Award
2021 - No Award
2022 - No Award
2023 - Amber Hogan Mitchell, DrPH, MPH, CPH